Skip to main content

Celonis Product Documentation

Digital process debugger

The digital process debugger helps you to find problems when you're running digital processes. You can:

  • see the status and metadata for running instances of a version of a digital process .

  • see if an instance has stopped.

  • check the reason why it stopped.

  • see the step in the digital process where the instance failed.

Working with the debugger

To access the digital process debugger:

  1. Go to the Orchestration Engine module in Management Dashboard and open the Digital Process listing.

  2. Choose the digital process that you want to check and click the Magnifier icon next to it.


    This shows you a list of all the process instances for the selected digital process .

    • Instance ID - you can use the Instance ID or a request ID to filter the results and to find the specific instance that you want to check.

      • Request ID is a webhook ID

      • Instance ID is an ID of the digital process instance

  3. To find the request ID and Instance ID, go to your scenario in Make, open the history tab, and choose the instance you want to check. The IDs are visible when you choose to view the scenario's module details.

    • Start time and end time of the digital process instance run.

    • Status of the instance - you can check if a process instance has finished, is running, failed, or was terminated.

      • Finished - an instance of a digital process that ended, it means all the steps of the instance were successfully completed.

      • Running - an instance that is in progress, it can be running some action at the moment, but it can also be in a paused state or waiting for a trigger event.

      • Failed - an instance of the digital process that was not completed and could not complete all the steps.

      • Terminated - an instance that was running but was stopped by a user.

    • Digital Process Version of the instance - to check how versioning works in Orchestration Engine, see the Versioning page.

  4. To open the debug mode, click on the digital process instance.

    The debug mode is a read-only page that shows each step of the digital process instance with detailed process logs. This allows you to see data flowing through the system up to the point it stopped and the errors passed back by other systems which may contribute to the failure.

    • For the triggers, you can check the logs of the event that took place.

    • For process steps with Make scenarios, you can check the input and output logs, as well as the information about completion events.

    You can use the debugger to move directly to a scenario that is linked to one process step. You don't have to search for the scenario in Make, it opens automatically from the digital process instance after you click on the Go to Scenario Logs button.

    If there's an instance of a digital process that has stopped at one step, but the step shows a running status, you can navigate directly to this instance's Make scenario to address the problem immediately.

    For every part of an instance the following statuses are possible:

    • Triggers - waiting/received

    • Process steps - running/finished

    • Filtered - for the steps were filters are applied

    • Pending - only at the beginning, during the initialization

Terminating a running instance

You can use the Terminate button to stop a running digital process instance. As a safety precaution, you have to copy the instance's ID and enter it in the confirmation before the system terminates the instance.