Skip to main content

Celonis Product Documentation

Version Control

Studio gives you the ability to publish versions of packages to Business Users and manage the versions of the assets that are included in a package. You can also restore versions for any package or asset.

Version Control on Package Level
Publishing a Package

Changes done within Studio are not visible to your Business Users until they are published to the team. This allows you to thoroughly test new features and configurations. The Studio saves all published versions, so you are able to change the current version to a previously published version.

When publishing to the team, the Views and Analyses will be shown to Business Users on their Apps. However, Business Users will not be able to see Knowledge Models or Skills that you have created in the Studio.

You can publish a Package by clicking on the "Publish" button in the top right corner of the Studio. An overlay will appear summarizing which package assets have been modified since the last publication. You need to name the new package version you are about to publish ("New Version").

41195506.png
How to choose the Version Number

As Celonis best practice, the versioning format should be MAJOR.MINOR.PATCH (e.g. 1.0.0). This format can be defined as follows:

Major: A complete update or shift in the current view. This can include changing different components, moving a handful of components around, or adding and removing visuals from the view. These changes would greatly affect Business Users if no communication was properly given in advance.

Minor: Tweaks in the apps that won’t necessarily require communication or messaging to Business Users. Examples include tweaking a KPI, making color changes, or changing chart types.

Patch: Very small changes that may go unnoticed to a Business User. Examples include an update to the calculation of a KPI, or changes in titles.

Bringing back Past Versions of your Package

In Studio, you can load past published versions of you package into your current draft, to bring back old features/past states of your package:

  • The unpublished package, your current working version is called 'Draft'.

  • The current published package version, seen in Apps can be identified by the tag 'Published'.

  • Older published versions are tagged with 'Archived'.

By 'Loading a past version' you load that version into your current working draft. If you have changes in your draft, these will be lost.

  • Loading a past version does not affect the 'published' package.

  • if you load an older version, you will not lose any of the versions in between.

  • 'Unpublished changes in X assets' let's you know how far your current draft is from the published version, seen in Apps.

41195507.png
Version Control on Asset (Knowledge Model, Analysis, View, Skill) Level

Every time you save your asset (e.g. Knowledge Model or Analysis), Studio stores it as a new version which you can browse and bring back at any time. Compared to the version control on package level, you can also browse through the saved versions which are all part of the same unpublished package.

Note

Unpublished (they were never part of a published package) versions which are older than your last 2 published packages will be automatically deleted.

Please note that Version Control on Asset Level is currently available for Knowledge Models and Analysis. This feature is on the roadmap for other assets like Views and Skills.

Version Control for Knowledge Models

In the Knowledge Model, you can access the Version History from the View or Edit mode.

41195593.png
  • In there, you can browse past versions and bring them back if needed using the 'Load This Version' action.

  • Loading a past version does not delete all the versions in between, it simply creates a new version with the state of the chosen one from the past.

41195594.png
Version Control for Analysis
  • There is an Autosave feature in Analysis so that its current version is automatically saved.

  • If the current version is older than 30 minutes or has a different user than the current one, then a new version is created.

In the Analysis asset, you can access the Version Control from the burger menu on the top left.

50744818.png
  • Upon clicking on Version Control, you can browse past versions and bring them back if needed using the 'Load This Version' action.

  • Browsing and reviving a past Analysis version works the same as for other assets.

50744819.png

Please note that there is currently no option to "manually" create a new Analysis version at the moment