Skip to main content

Celonis Product Documentation

Transfer data between Data Pools

Feature Availability

This feature is currently not available by default for all teams. Please reach out to the Service Desk if you would like to use the feature and it is not enabled. If you can see the options "Import" and "Export" under "Data transfer" in any Data Pools, the feature is enabled. Please also note that the feature is not available in the Leave your Data in Place deployment.

Purpose

In certain cases, you might want to separate related data into multiple Data Pools and then share it partially. This is a non-exhaustive list of these reasons:

  • separating permissions between extractions and transformations

  • sharing common data across multiple Data Pools which need to be separated for reasons of differing permissions

In this case, Data Integration offers the possibility to share data from Data Connections by exporting them from a source Data Pool and importing them into a target Data Pool within one team. This allows the users of the source Data Pool to set up the Data Connection in a way that only the desired data is shared. Moreover, users of the target Data Pool do not need to have access to the source Data Pool at all.

Usage
Exporting Data Connections
39682465.png

By exporting a Data Connection you share the data from your Data Connection with other Data Pools. Views will be created on the tables so that data is not duplicated.

In the section "Export" you can start exporting a new Data Connection and you can see a list of currently exported Data Connections. By using the context menu of an exported Data Connection, you can delete the export which leaves the Data Connection in the exporting Data Pool untouched. The data connection in an importing pool is not deleted either and thus also e.g. associated data jobs are preserved, but all data are removed immediately.

The "Export Type" indicates whether the Data Connection is shared with all other Data Pools (ALL) or only a limited subset (LIMITED).

39682467.png

When exporting a new Data Connection or when editing an existing export of a Data Connection, you can specify which Data Pools should be able to access the data from the Data Connection.

  1. By selecting "All other Data Pools" data will be available to all existing and all future Data Pools of your team

  2. If other Data Pools have already imported your Data Connection and you are in the process of removing their access, this warning message will display the affected Data Pools.

  3. A list of all other Data Pools gives you the option to specify exactly which Data Pools are allowed to import the Data Connection. Data Pools which are not checked will not see the Data Connection in their available Data Connections to import.

Importing Data Connection
30999542.png

In the section "Import" you can start the importing process of a Data Connection from another Data Pool and you can view the list of already imported Data Connections. Imported Data Connection can be removed from the Data Pool by using the context menu. The deletion of an imported data connection will result in the deletion of all data jobs, tasks and data model tables associated with the previously imported data connection.

30999546.png

When importing a Data Connection, you can choose among all available exported Data Connection from other Data Pools.

Note

The exporting step always has to come first. If you miss a Data Connection, please make sure that the source Data Pool exports it already.

After the import is done, the Data Connection will appear in the list of Data Connections and views will be created on all tables and views of the source Data Connection.

Synchronizing Data Connections
30999550.png

If new rows are added to the tables and views of the exported Data Connection, the data will be available automatically in the importing Data Pools, e.g. when executing a Data Job with those tables. However, if the structure of the tables change or tables are added/removed, the Data Connection needs to be synchronized.

This synchronization can be triggered in the "Data Connections" section by using the context menu of the imported Data Connection.

30999552.png

After starting the sychronization procedure, you will be presented with an overview of the changes which will be made. After clicking "Sychronize" you can monitor the progress of the changes and close the window in the end after everything is done.